Flight of the Airbus A380s – Part One, London to Bangkok

Today should be Monday. At least that is what it feels like. Somewhere during my moments skipping time zones I lost a day. Despite the fact that I know I’m writing this from a house in Thailand, not England, this whole experience still doesn’t seem real. It’s overshadowed by a strange surreal aura, which makes me feel like my exams were years ago, and at the same time, like all of this has occurred in the blink of an eye. I mean, I’m here, belly stuffed full with mango and sticky rice, the angry sounds of meteorological warfare loud in the background, but at the same time it all feels too good to be true. Anyway, that’s even more of a reason to make the most of this opportunity, in case it does turn out to be a strangely realistic dream.

I digress however, let us return to..

Part One – LHR TO BKK

11414552_10205664606908470_1504099920_n

So after a morning of efficient packing by mum and myself, well okay mainly mum, we found ourselves standing in an eerily empty room. I have no clue how we managed to fit the entire contents of my room into a 60l backpack, but kudos to us, because we did manage it. There was one slight problem still however; It was firstly, almost impossible to get on single handedly, and secondly, it turned me into a something resembling a particularly unstable pink turtle. I shouldered this heavy burden anyway and in virtually no time at all, Dad and I were on the train.

I wish I had some amusing anecdote to share about the train journey to Heathrow, but unfortunately, I don’t find it amusing. I was mistaken for a 14 year old. A 14 year old. Now I don’t want to appear melodramatic, but as a 16 year old, I was mildly insulted. Do you know why? Because I have absolutely no doubt that my 13 year old brother could pass for 16 any day of the week. Dad helpfully added that I would be grateful for an incident like this years into the future.

The rest of the check in proceeded without incident, apart from the thing where I was detained at security whilst my bag was searched. Yeah.. take this as a warning. Don’t carry compasses in pencil cases. It causes unnecessary hassle; I learned that the hard way. It wasn’t all bad though, they let me keep the compass!

From a personal point of view, I’m relieved that the journey was fairly uneventful, but from a bloggers point of view, an uneventful journey leaves a pitiful amount to narrate. I supposed all that matters is that I managed to make it to Bangkok. At the airport we met Dad’s Thai brother, who we’re now staying with. (Dad came to Thailand on an exchange year back in the 80s and has since kept in touch with his family) Tomorrow will bring on the house hunting.

As for the flying part of this adventure, that will carry on next Monday.. solo.. so maybe that will lead to more interesting events. Not sure whether I should want that or dread that.

To be continued in…

Part Two – BKK TO AKL

Leave a comment